Brooks, Nicholls named First Team OAC


November 26, 2013

Former Galion High School teammates and fellow members of the GHS graduating class of 2009 — Cartel Brooks and Jack Nicholls — each received First Team All-Ohio Athletic Conference honors in football as the result of their performances during the regular season.

Cartel — a junior tailback at Heidelberg University — ran for 1704 yards, 23 touchdowns and averaged 8.2 yards per carry to lead the OAC in rushing yards and touchdowns for the second year in a row. He also caught 9 passes for 208 markers and two more six-pointers and was named the conference’s Offensive Back of the Year. In addition, the three-time OAC Offensive Player of the Week this season set an all-time National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) single-game record for rushing yards with 465 a week-and-a-half ago against Baldwin Wallace in the regular-season finale.

Jack — a senior wide receiver for the undefeated and defending Division III national champion Mount Union Purple Raiders — led them in the regular-season in receptions (56), yards (854) and TD catches (9). In a 34-20 win over Washington and Jefferson in the first round of the playoffs last Saturday, Jack caught 3 more balls for 49 stripes. The Purple Raiders host OAC foe Wittenberg in the second round of the playoffs this Saturday.


First Team

WR: JACK NICHOLLS (MTU), Aramis Greenwood (JCU), Jeremy Duncan (WILM)

TE: Luc Meacham (MTU)

C: Alex Banschroeder (HEID)

OL: Quentin Rembert (HEID), Austin Hunter (HEID), Denny Ardman (MUSK), Jason Cook (BW)

QB: Kevin Burke (MTU), Mark Myers (JCU)

RB: CARTEL BROOKS (HEID), DaQuan Grobsmith (JCU), Tim Conner (MAR)

K: Kreimir Ivkovic (JCU)

DL: Frank Pines (JCU), Ben Poirier (HEID), Zach Grieves (OTT), Matt Fechko (MTU), Tom Lally (MTU)

LB: Matt Feeney (JCU), Mitch Krotz (JCU), Adam Cepik (BERG), Tarrell Starkey (WILM), Jonathan Gonell (MTU)

DB: Randy Greenwood (JCU), Darell Jones (MUSK), Alex Kocheff (MTU), Tre Jones (MTU)

P: Matt Harmon (BW)